Eron Equipment

Illinois Ag News Headlines
Argonne Researchers Honored with Energy Secretary Awards
Illinois Ag Connection - 10/08/2018

Lawrence Paul Lewis and Linda Hansen were recognized for their contributions to infrastructure security and nuclear nonproliferation, among others, at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary's Honor Awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Lewis, leader of the Technology Implementation Program in the Decision and Infrastructure Sciences division at DOE's Argonne National Laboratory, received the Secretary of Energy's Achievement Award for his support of the Department of Homeland Security's Office of Infrastructure Protection following the hurricanes that devastated Puerto Rico in 2017. His work toward long-term recovery planning included analysis of lifeline infrastructure systems (e.g., energy, water, communications and transportation) around Manati, Puerto Rico and identification of opportunities for long-term reinvestment strategies. This effort resulted in the development of a web-based geographic information system application that identified key infrastructure assets and their first- and second-order dependencies.

Principal Nonproliferation Policy Analyst Hansen, of Argonne's Strategic Security Sciences division, was also awarded the Secretary of Energy's Achievement Award. DOE recognized Hansen for her exceptional service and leadership in support of U.S. initiatives to advance international adherence to the International Atomic Energy Agency Additional Protocol, a critical component of the international nuclear nonproliferation regime. Hansen's work is sponsored by the Office of International Nuclear Safeguards/International Nuclear Safeguards Engagement Program.

DOE bestows the Secretary's Honor Awards on employees or contractors who accomplish significant achievements on behalf of the Department. Award recipients receive a certificate signed by the Secretary of Energy.

Send this article to a friend

Other Illinois Headlines
Ag-Bag Plastic
Zabel Equipment
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.