Bindl Sales

Illinois Ag News Headlines
Pork Leadership Attends National Pork Industry Forum
Illinois Ag Connection - 03/08/2018

Illinois sent voting delegates to the National Pork Industry Forum in Kansas City. These seven delegates: Dave Conrady, Elkhart; Michael Haag, Emington; Pam Janssen, Minonk; Dale Weitekamp, Raymond; Jason Propst, Toledo; Dereke Dunkirk, Morrisonville; and Curt Zehr, Washington, were among 500 producers from across the country who attended.

While there, Illinois presented a floor resolution, which was previously passed by delegates at the Illinois Pork Expo in February, which states: "National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) work with the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Risk Management Agency (RMA) to achieve a more practical list of livestock feeding record guidelines that the USDA RMA recognizes, prior to livestock farmers being subjected to audits." This resolution presented by Illinois was passed by the NPPC delegates.

Ken Maschhoff, fifth-generation pig farmer and fellow Illinois Pork Producers Association member from Carlyle, gave his retiring address during the 2018 Forum. He has served as President of the National Pork Producers Council for the past year. Ken has traveled the world to represent and promote pig farmers in the United States. He serves as the chairman of Maschhoff Family Foods, and co-owner and chairman of The Maschhoffs Inc.

Jill Appell, from Altona, was inducted to the Hall of Fame of the National Pork Producers Council for her leadership of and dedication to the U.S. pork industry. Appell is a role model in the pork industry, as she has served in various capacities at the local, state, and national levels. She held the role of IPPA President and later served as NPPC President. Appell helped both IPPA as well as NPPC serve their members and in the process, nurtured new leaders, particularly women.

Gary Asay, from Osco, was reelected to the National Pork Board. Asay just completed his first three-year term on the board. He serves on the Illinois Pork Producers Association board of directors and was a director for the National Pork Producers Council. He is very active in the pork industry and does a great deal for promoting pork in Illinois and beyond.

Two Illinois students were awarded with a Lois Britt Memorial Scholarship from the CME Group and National Pork Industry Foundation. Erin Bryan, from Geneva, is a senior attending the University of Illinois. She is studying Meat Science and plans to earn a Ph.D., then contribute to the pork industry. Tim Grote from Champaign, also a senior at the University of Illinois, is an award winner. Tim is studying Animal Science and plans to become a swine production veterinarian.

Send this article to a friend

Other Illinois Headlines
LaForage Systems
U.S. Custom Harvesters, Inc.
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.